How Our 2013 Award Winners Pursue Digital Conversions

Our annual Awards program recognizes some of the exceptional leaders and districts who are shaping the future of education technology. Nominations for this year’s Withrow CTO Award and Team Award will open at the end of September; get ready to nominate (or self-nominate) a deserving leader!

Last year’s winners are working at the cutting edge of several ed tech initiatives. Ed McKaveney, CETL and Technology Director at Hampton Township School District (PA), was our 2013 Withrow Award winner. Ed has transformed learning in his district by pursuing STEM grants, developing mobile apps to mesh with his course curricula, and implementing a BYOD program. The curriculum at HTSD is more varied than ever, and its emphasis on 21st century skills has been recognized by Newsweek and the U.S. News & World Report.

Our Team Award winner, Mooresville Graded School District (NC), pursued a different digital conversion strategy. Instead of emphasizing BYOD, they provided technology to each student through a one-to-one laptop program. Since the start of the program in 2007, MGSD’s graduation rate has ballooned from 77% to 90% (the third-highest in North Carolina) as a result of their emphasis on personalized learning.

Our awards winners help remind us how many different ways districts can succeed. What digital conversion strategy is your district using? Have your students benefited from BYOD, one-to-one, or another initiative?