Lenny Schad

Lenny Schad

Lenny Schad has been in the technology field for 25 years.  During this time period, his career has taken him into many business sectors, where he has established a very successful leadership and management track record. His range of business sector experience includes hospitality, government, oil & gas, investment banking, and education.  Highlights of his career include managing and leading technology departments for the 1991 Economic Summit of Industrialized Nations and the 1992 Republican National Convention, as well as creating and managing technology departments for joint ventures and global organizations. He is a recognized leader, whose innovative and process-oriented management styles have led to highly effective Information Technology departments.

For nine years, Mr. Schad served as the Chief Information Officer for Katy ISD, a Houston-area district of 67,000 students, recognized nationally for technology innovation. Through his leadership, Katy ISD embarked on a mobile learning initiative focusing on Web 2.0 integration, Digital Citizenship and Mobile Devices.  For the past four years, fifth graders at 18 elementary schools have been using mobile learning devices in their classes with great success.  For the second year, public Wi-Fi was available at every K-12 campus, allowing students and teachers to “bring their own device.”  Mr. Schad has been responsible for leading both the instructional and technology efforts related to the four-year strategic plan.

As of January 1, 2013, Mr. Schad started a new role as Chief Technology Information Officer for the Houston Independent School District.  One of his first tasks working for the nation’s seventh largest school district will be implementing a 1:1 program for grades 3-12. 

Recognitions include:

  • National School Board Association's "20 to Watch" educators for 2008
  • The Consortium of School Networking (CoSN) Volunteer Hall of Fame
  • CoSN 2011 National School District Team Award
  • CIO Leadership Forum “2011 Next Level Leadership Award”