Sheryl Abshire

Dr. Abshire is the Chief Technology Officer for the Calcasieu Parish Public Schools. With a B.S. in Early Childhood Education, a M.Ed. in Elementary Education, an Educational Specialist in School Administration and Supervision and a Ph.D. in Educational Leadership and Administration, she has served as a catalyst to initiate the integration of technology throughout the nation and internationally. Sheryl has provided leadership on numerous national, state and district committees focusing on the role of technology and curriculum in changing educational practice for over 40 years. She is a past Chair of CoSN, is the present Chair of the CoSN Policy Committee and has served on numerous CoSN committees and task forces. Sheryl is the past President of the Louisiana Association of Computer Using Educators, presently serving as Vice President of Programs and Advocacy and served on the FCC Universal Services Administrative Corporation (USAC) Board representing our nation’s K-12 schools and libraries. Additionally, she is a founding member and Board Chair for the CoSN Chapter, the Louisiana Chief Technology Officers Council (LACTO).