Early Career K-12 CTO Academy

Listen. Learn. Lead.
The Early Career K-12 CTO Academy is a new program that was developed to address the needs of education technology leaders who are new in their position. Participants will have the opportunity to enhance their understanding of edtech leadership and make a positive impact on student-centered, digital learning in their school district. 
The Academy was developed in collaboration with Dell Technologies - “Today, schools are looking to integrate technology with new teaching and learning practices, leading to better learning outcomes for students,” said Matt Dascoli, Education Strategist, Dell Technologies. “We are excited to collaborate with COSN to develop a program for K-12 edtech leaders that offers resources and skills that these CTOs will use today and throughout their careers.”

CoSN’s Early Career K-12 CTO Academy prepares new technology directors with fewer than four full years of experience to: 

  • Be part of discussions centered around new strategies for meeting the needs of diverse learners
  • Lead the creation of a culture of innovation in their school district  
  • Benefit from the experience of veteran tech and curriculum leaders in the areas of supporting student-centered learning, technology budgeting, technical support strategies, infrastructure, effective strategies for communications, and more
  • Improve the soft skills necessary to work effectively with others in the culture specific to their school district
  • Build a Professional Learning Network (PLN) of edtech experts and other new CTOs through face-to-face and virtual meetings

CoSN would like to congratulate the 2019-2020 Cohort: 

Austin James, Bend-La Pine Schools
Ben Brown, Davidson Academy
Chris Monasmith, Cumberland Valley School District
Christina Iremonger, Vancouver Public Schools
Curtis Shahan, Comanche Public Schools
Donna Rowland, Wills Point ISD
Drew Simmons, Methow Valley School District
James Lunsford, Richmond County Schools
Jamie Locklin, Alamo Heights ISD
Karyn Dobda, Quaker Valley
LaDonna Hartman, Southeast Kansas Education Service Center
Laura Ware, Jefferson County
Sarah Ashton, San Rafael City Schools
Shundra Davis, Highlands School
Steven Thomaschefsky, School District of Waupaca
Zach Allen, Royse City ISD

Eligibility and Timeline

New career K-12 chief technology officers (CTOs) with fewer than 4 full years of experience are invited to apply. The program runs from September 2020 to May 2021.   

Application closed