CoSN Early Career K-12 CTO Academy Project Director: Donna Williamson,

CoSN staff contact: Jill Brown, MA, Ph.d., Director of Professional Learning,

The Early Career K-12 CTO Academy for Today's EdTech Leaders is a program to address the needs of education technology leaders who are new (less than 4 full years) to their CTO or Technology Leadership position or aspiring CTOs and EdTech leaders currently working in a technology department. Participants will have the opportunity to develop edtech leadership skills including; managing diverse teams, leading a variety of projects simultaneously, and collaborating with a variety of stakeholders. Academy participants make a positive impact on student-centered and digital learning in their school district and enhance their career trajectory.

Scholarships may be available for EdTech Leaders from underrepresented populations in the education technology community. Please indicate in the application if you are interested. 

This program was developed through public and private sector leaders, district CTOs and edtech leaders to address current professional development needs and thought partner support for aspiring and early-career CTO and EdTech leaders.


Email Jill Brown, CoSN Director of Professional Learning, or Donna Williamson,, Project Facilitator.

Note, the application uses a Google Form. If your school blocks access, please use a personal account or email us for other options.


Applications for the National Cohort are DUE September 1st Each Year

If you have questions about NY or GA cohorts, email

eca all logo

CoSN’s Early Career K-12 CTO Academy prepares new technology directors with fewer than four full years of experience to:


  • Lead the creation of a culture of innovation in their school district
  • Build a Professional Learning Network (PLN) of edtech experts and other new CTOs through face-to-face and virtual meetings
  • Understand best practices to build diverse teams that include under-represented populations in the edtech industry including African Americans, Latin, and Native Americans, Pacific-Islanders, and females
  • Benefit from the experience of veteran tech and curriculum leaders in the areas of supporting student-centered learning, technology budgeting, technical support strategies, infrastructure, effective strategies for communications, and more
  • Be part of discussions centered around new strategies for meeting the needs of diverse learners
  • Improve the soft skills necessary to work effectively with others in the culture-specific to their school district
22 23cohortacceptance

CoSN would like to welcome the 2022-2023 Cohort:

Kevin Adams Chief Information Officer Bibb County School District Macon GA
Pedro Agosto CIO Baltimore County Public Schools Towson MD
Emmanuel Ajanma Director of Technology Barre Unified Union School District Barre Vermont
Alex Anstine Assistant Director of Technology Raytown Quality Schools Raytown Missouri
Chuck Broyles  I.T. Operations Administrator Greeneville City Schools Greeneville TN
Andrew Click Technology Director Lee County Schools, AL Opelika AL
Austin Contreras Director of Technology Infrastructure Corsicana ISD Corsicana Texas
Colleen Davoren Network Infrastructure Manager Community High School District 99 Downers Grove IL
Anthony Dotts Network Systems Administrator Community High School District 99 Downers Grove IL
Giumarra Duhart Coordinator of Instructional Technology Metro. Nashville Public Schools Nashville TN
Andrew Fekete Instructional Technology Specialist Indian Prairie School District #204 Aurora Illinois
Gregory Gillette Director of Technology Rockingham County Public Schools Rockingham VA
Hope Gould Technology Director MSAD 58 PHILLIPS Maine
Jarod Lambert Director, Technology - Information Systems Conroe Independent School District Conroe Texas
Martin Medrano System and Device Engineer Indian Prairie School District 204 Aurora IL
Matthew Melton Director of Technology Portage Township Schools Portage Indiana
Evangelina Mendoza Interim Chief Information Technology Officer San Antonio Independent School District San Antonio Texas
Brian Miles Instructional Technology Coordinator Middleton Cross Plains Area School District Middleton WI
Jaclyn Patanio Director of Citywide Ed Tech New York City Dept. of Education New York City New York
Lars Porter Technology Coordinator Mountain Brook Schools Mountain Brook AL
Philip Price Chief Technology Officer School District of Oconee County (SC) Walhalla South Carolina
Allison Reid Senior Director, Digital Learning & Libraries Wake County Public School System Cary North Carolina
Erin Rennick White Instructional Technology Facilitator Mid-Del Public Schools Midwest City OK
Oscar Rodriguez Chief Technology Officer Austin ISD Austin TX
Kathy Ross Network Specialist Hardeman County Schools Bolivar TN
Chris Rowbotham Director of Technology Siuslaw School District 97 Florence Oregon
Shanna Schlitz Director of Technology Riverdale School District Portland Oregon
David Stovenour Director Baltimore County Public Schools Baltimore Maryland
Jim Struck Information Systems Manager Community High School District 99 Downers Grove IL
Alicia Taylor Director of Data and Technology LEAD Public Schools Nashville Tennessee
Matt Tombs Director of Innovation and Technology River Trails School District 26 Mount Prospect Illinois

DEI Scholarship Opportunity

The CTO Academy tries to secure five Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Academy Scholarships every year for CTOs from underrepresented populations in the education technology community. As part of the application process, you may request to be considered for one of these scholarships, if they are available.

"The work of a District Technology Leader can be lonely at times. The Early Career K-12 CTO Academy brings value and partnership to the daily work of a CTO. With a focus on leadership and vision, finance and budgeting, communications, infrastructure, and data privacy and security, this unique learning opportunity provides timely support both in resources and thought partners to those new to technology leadership."

Amy Sterckx
Sturgeon Bay School District

"The CTO Academy is absolutely the most valuable resource I have available to me!  The modules are relevant and the learning coincides with what is current in my work life.  Despite the variety of skill sets, the academy design supports all new CTO’s, and the course facilitator was very conscious of meeting me at my level, which ensured a quality experience."

tony alverez crop
Tony Alvarez
Governor Mifflin School District

Eligibility and Timeline

New career K-12 chief technology officers (CTOs) with fewer than 4 full years of experience or aspiring EdTech leaders currently working in a technology department are invited to apply. Applications for the 2023-2024 cohort are open. The program will run from October 2023- June 2024.