CoSN Honors Education Icon Charles Blaschke

In May of 2019, CoSN announced the creation of The Blaschke Fund to support emerging leaders in education technology policy and advocacy. This memorial fund honors the late-industry giant Charles Blaschke, who conducted pioneering research and analysis on the ever-changing U.S. education landscape for over 50 years. Charles Blaschke was a vital member of the CoSN community, dedicating countless hours of energy contributing to CoSN's mission alongside his wife and longtime CoSN leader, Kathy Hurley. This fund created the Blaschke Fellowship. Candidates must meet the criteria developed by a group of Trustees to be selected.
mdr remembrance charles blaschke 1

Meet the Blaschke Fellows and Read Their Reports

monet square

Monet Massac, 2023 Blaschke Fellow

Navigating Student Device 1:1 Sustainability: Challenges and Solutions in a Post-Pandemic Landscape



Omar Chaudhry, 2022 Blaschke Fellow

Making the Case for Increased Investment in Cybersecurity: A Primer for K-12 School Districts Just Getting Started with Cybersecurity



Mardi Crean, 2020-2021 Blaschke Fellow

Best Practices from CoSN's Peer Review Program


william ernst

William Ernst, 2019 Inaugural Blaschke Fellow

AI Currently in Educational Settings

“CoSN’s mission, and the education professionals we serve every day, is influenced by the remarkable work of Charles Blaschke. In memorializing his legacy, we hope the fund will help shape future education technology policy and impact the next generation educators,” said Keith Krueger, CEO of CoSN.

keith krueger headshot

Keith Krueger, CAE

“Charles would be deeply honored by the establishment of this memorial fund,” said Kathy Hurley, his wife and colleague in the education industry. “He was committed to providing policymakers the best research and analysis possible so that they could create sound education policy to positively impact America’s K-12 students.”

kathy hurley linkedin

Kathy Hurley
Principal Consultant at Kathy Hurley Consulting

The following Trustees were appointed to develop the criteria that candidates must meet to be selected for the Blaschke Fellowship:

  • Deborah Delisle, President & CEO, Alliance for Excellent Education
  • Deb deVries, K-12 Education Industry Veteran
  • Gary Mainor, Executive Vice President, Pearson Education
  • Keith Krueger, CEO, CoSN
  • John Phillipo, CEO, Center for Educational Leadership and Technology
  • Joseph Scherer, Executive Director, Superintendents’ National Dialogue