Capitol Hill

CoSN is working to advance policies that provide sustainable and robust investment in the technology required to power next-generation learning environments. We provide our members with the resources and knowledge necessary to be effective advocates at the Federal and State levels. Our current policy efforts focus on implementing the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA), providing high capacity broadband for all students in schools and at home, seeking substantial funding for technology programs and protecting student data.  

CoSN Education Technology News - Updated July 19, 2017

Significant partisan disagreements on education policy are emerging in the 115th Congress and the Trump Administration. CoSN will provide updates to keep you informed. 

2017 Archived policy alerts

CoSN Statement on FY2018 Budget - Released May 23, 2017
“To grow America’s economy and society, we need to invest in our students and the educational opportunities that will make them thrive. This means supporting robust education networks, improved broadband access and impactful technology – all of which are becoming the backbone of modern, engaging learning environments.
“Unfortunately, the Trump Administration’s proposed budget goes in the opposite direction with irresponsible cuts in the Education Department, and, in particular, eliminating funding for ESSA Title IV-A. This block grant program would provide school districts with vital funding for technology and other local needs. As education has gone digital, technology is not just nice to have, but is essential to learning.
“Our nation’s policymakers should stand up for our students and educators and give them the support to excel in 21st century settings. The Administration and Congress should ensure Title IV-A is fully funded when the Department of Education’s budget lands on the President’s desk.”

What's New? 

cosn's state advocacy toolkit

review cosn's 2016 policy impact here

Keith's video message on advocacy

message from CoSN CEO Keith Krueger on advocacy. Join the network to stay up to date on the issues and make your voice heard.

Attend the Annual Advocacy Dinner and Auction

Each year, CoSN hosts an Advocacy Dinner and Auction as part of our Annual Conference. Save the date for the next dinner and auction, April 4 in Chicago, IL.

Make a Donation to Support CoSN’s Advocacy Efforts

Your donation supports educator advocates, underwrites CoSN’s professional policy experts, and builds advocacy tools. Our efforts would not be possible without your generous support. Become a Friend of Advocacy and make an individual or corporate donation.