Award Winners

2023: Jim Roberts, Bartholomew Consolidated School District (IN)

2022: Matt Miller, Lakota Local Schools (OH)

2021: Dr. Michael Hinojosa,  Dallas ISD (TX) and Dr. Jeff Stephens, Weber County Schools (UT)

2020: Dr. Aaron Spence, Virginia Beach City Public Schools (VA)

2019: Dr. Mark Benigni, Meriden Public Schools (CT)

CoSN and AASA’s EmpowerED Digital Superintendent of the Year Award recognizes an exceptional district Superintendent who serves as a true empowered leader, leveraging and championing technologies in the classroom and throughout the district to transform their school district. 

cosn logo small




Thank you to our award sponsor, Classlink.classlink logo 2021


School district Superintendents of all types of schools—public, charter, private, parochial, or independent—are eligible for the CoSN Empowered Superintendent Award. Winners will be announced at the CoSN Annual Conference.

Nominate an exemplary Superintendent—or self-nominate. CoSN’s Awards committee will review all nominations and notify the winner in January. The winning Superintendent will then be publicly honored at the CoSN Annual Conference. In addition to our congratulations, the Superintendent receives complimentary conference registration, a $1,000 honorarium, and media coverage.

     2023 Award Winner: EmpowerEd Superintendent of the Year

jim roberts empowered sup of the year

Dr. Jim Roberts, Bartholomew Consolidated School District (IN)