Submission Deadline

December 3, 2021

Award Winners

2021: Bryon Kolbeck, Chief Technology Officer, Lewisville ISD (TX)

2020: Rajesh “Raj” Adusumilli, Assistant Superintendent, Arlington Public Schools (VA)

2019: Phil Hintz, Director of Technology, Gurnee District 56 (IL)

2017: Melissa Dodd, CTO, San Francisco USD (CA)

2016: Aileen Owens, Director of Technology and Innovation, South Fayette Township School District (PA) & Kevin Schwartz, CETL, Technology Officer for Learning and Systems, Austin ISD (TX)

2015: Vincent Scheivert, Albemarle County Public Schools, VA

2014: Keith Bockwoldt, CETL, Township High School District 214, IL

2013: Ed McKaveney, CETL, Hampton Township School District, PA

2012: Harold Rowe, Cypress-Fairbanks ISD, TX

2011: Tim Wilson, Osseo Area Schools, MN

2010: Jeanine Gendron, Broward County Public Schools, FL

2009: Greg Utecht, Lakeville Independent School District, MN

2007: Dr. Michael Burke, Edina Public Schools, MN

2006: Vijay Sonty, School Board of Broward County, FL

2005: Darryl LaGace, Lemon Grove School District, CA

2004: Dennis Bruno, Glendale School District, PA

2003: Rudy Castruita, San Diego County Office of Education, CA

2002: Herman Gaither, Beaufort County School District, SC

2001: Joe Kitchens, Western Heights School District, OK

2000: Carol Bird, Fort Huachuca Accommodation Schools, AZ

CoSN’s Withrow CTO Award recognizes an exceptional district CTO who serves as a true technology champion and whose leadership has been transformative for his school system. The award honors Frank Withrow, a pioneer, and champion of K-12 education technology.


CoSN’s Awards committee is reviewing all nominations and will notify the winner in January. The winner will then be publicly honored at the CoSN Annual Conference. In addition to our congratulations, the winner will receive one complimentary conference registration, a $1,000 honorarium, and media coverage.

The honoree is selected based on leadership, community-building initiatives, innovation inside and outside of the classroom, sizeable impact, and partnership development.



Chief Technology Officers (or equivalent) from all types of schools—public, charter, private, parochial, or independent—are eligible for the Withrow CTO Award. Nominees must be CoSN members. CoSN board members and their institutions are ineligible for CoSN awards.

How to Apply

Applications are now being accepted. Nominations are accepted from CoSN Chapters.

*You must be logged in to access the application