CoSN today delivered an update on its new publication series and toolkit titled, Driving K-12 Innovation

Since announcing the initiative at the 2018 Annual Conference in March, CoSN has launched the discussion and data collection phase of the project to capture the collective wisdom of K-12 thought leaders. A diverse and global advisory board of approximately 100 esteemed K-12 education administrators, practitioners, technologists, futurists, and others are engaging in an online community to identify the top Hurdles, Accelerators and Tech Enablers impacting learning. 

CoSN also revealed the release dates for the reports, set to debut in 2019: 

  • January 2019: The first report will focus on the “Hurdles” hindering K-12 innovation. 
  • April 2019 (at the CoSN 2019 Annual Conference): The second report will focus on “Accelerators” driving potential changes in K-12 leadership, teaching and learning.
  • June 2019: The concluding “Tech Enablers” publication will focus on technologies that can help schools integrate the selected Accelerators and surmount the Hurdles. This, along with the Driving K-12 Innovation series toolkit, will be issued at the annual ISTE conference. 

The new project is made possible through the support of the following sponsors and nonprofit and public sector partners: ClassLink and Google (Gold sponsors); Amazon Web Services, Dell EMC and Kajeet (Silver sponsors); ENA (Bronze sponsor); American Association of School Administrators; Alliance for Excellent Education; Center for Educational Technology (Israel); Education Services Australia (ESA); European Schoolnet; Government Technology Agency (Singapore); Infocomm Media Development Authority (Singapore); ISTE (International Society for Technology in Education) Kennisnet (Netherlands); KERIS (Korea Education & Research Information Service, South Korea); KnowledgeWorks; Learning Forward; MITIE (Australia); National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP); National Education Association (NEA); National School Boards Association (NSBA); National Science Teachers Association (NSTA); SETDA (State Education Technology Directors Association); The Norwegian Directorate for Education and Training (Norway); and UNESCO.